The Professional body for Occupational Therapists in Ireland

Benefits Of OT |  Contact us | CPD | LAPD

AOTI Directors and Council

The AOTI has a number of key structures in order to carry out its functions including Directors, Council, Staff, Sub-Committees, Advisory Groups and Delegates/Reps.


The Directors of AOTI delegate responsibility for the day to day management of the Association to the Council. However, the Directors retain legal accountability and responsibility for the company. The Chair of Council is also the Chair of the Board of Directors of the company.

The Directors of the Association are:

  • Pauline Burke - Chairperson
  • Anne Hughes-Kazibwe - Company Secretary
  • Mary McGrath
  • Andrew Semple
  • Phil Dunne

The Directors are the legal structure of the Association whose responsibilities include AOTI compliance with CRO requirements (e.g. submission of annual audited accounts) and acting as advisors to the Council.


The Council of AOTI refers to the council of management which consists of voting members of AOTI elected at AGM or co-opted onto Council where vacancies arise following the AGM. The Council is the governance structure of the Association with a number of executive and strategic functions.

There are twelve members on the Council anf five of these are elected by the Council annually to form the Executive Council, which is comprised of the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer and Minute Secretary. Service on Council is on a voluntary basis. The current members of AOTI Council are:

  • Pauline Burke - Chairperson
  • Mary O'Kelly - Vice Chairperson
  • Ann-Marie Morrissey - Treasurer
  • Sarah Carter -Secretary
  • Siobhain O'Shea - AOTI Conference 2017 
  • Sinead Crowe
  • Katie Kerley
  • Anne Quirke
  • Lydia Martin
  • Andreya Ellis
  • Roisin Scally
  • Helen Martyn

Council meets every second month and the Executive Council also meets every second month in the intervening months. Meetings of the Council require a quorum in order for the meeting to proceed and for decisions to be valid. When a full Council is in place the quorum is seven.

The AOTI Standing Orders guide Council in its governance duties and decision-making. The Standing Orders is not a legally binding document. Instead it is a ‘live’ document that contains the rules of order for the Association that can be adapted and changed to suit the changing needs of the Association. The Standing Orders can be amended at the AGM by a resolution supported by at least two thirds of the voting members present.


AOTI currently has four staff, part time.–  Project Officer (Emer Duffy), Membership Secretary (Veronica McKenna), Director of CPD (Sarah Lee) and Grainne Wall, CPD Administrator.  The positions of Project Officer and Membership Secretary are funded primarily through membership subscriptions and the CPD Director and Adminstratir roles are funded through an annual grant from the HSE. 

Find a private Occupational Therapist near you

Find Private Practice List (.PDF format)